Meditation Instruction

Meditation Instructors

Perhaps the Brunswick Portland Shambhala Center’s most valuable offering, meditation instruction is available to anyone, free of charge. We offer introductory instruction to newcomers and follow-up instruction to other practitioners.

Shambhala meditation instructors are senior Shambhala Buddhist practitioners specially trained and authorized to help people deepen and expand their conceptual and experiential understanding of meditation (see below).

We encourage anyone interested in this journey to establish a working relationship with the meditation instructor of her/his choice and keep working with the instructor for as long as doing so feels beneficial.
To set up a meeting with a meditation instructor contact the Coordinator, Sarah Chandler at MeditationInstruction@maineshambhala.org or 207-865-1907.

For introductory meditation instruction we also have Shambhala Guides who can provide initial instruction.  See the list below and contact Sarah for an appointment.

Brunswick Portland Shambhala Center meditation instructors currently available are listed below.

Brunswick/ Portland Shambhala Meditation Instructors

Sarah Chandler | Meditation Instructor Coordinator| MeditationInstruction@MaineShambhala.org

Kathy Bither | KathyBither@MaineShambhala.org

Joan Carney | Joan@MaineShambhala.org

Roland Mendiola | [email protected]

Karen Monahan| KarenM@MaineShambhala.org@MaineShambhala.org|

Glenn Prentice|Glenn@MaineShambhala.org

Marguerite Prentice|Marguerite@MaineShambhala.org

Toby Sifton|Toby@MaineShambhala.org

Christopher St. John| ShastriCSTJ@MaineShambhala.org

Eunice St. John|Eunice@MaineShambhala.org

Judi Soule|Judi@MaineShambhala.org

 

Brunswick /Portland Shambhala Guides

Shambhala Guides are individuals who have received training in offering initial meditation instruction.  In addition, they are available to answer questions about the culture and more general information about what Shambhala Buddhism has to offer.  Feel free to make connection with them at the centers or to ask for initial instruction, contact Sarah Chandler at MeditationInstruction@MaineShambhala.org to make an appointment.

In Portland

Matthew Alcorn | mwestalcorn@gmail.com
Tim Fuller|Rusung@MaineShambhala.org
Joyce Ham | grandabsurdity@gmail.com
Kudra Maccaillech | kudramac@gmail.com
Michael Monsell| MichaelM@MaineSHambhala.org 
Peter Nesbitt |pjnnow@yahoo.com
Claire Schroeder |schroederclairenyc@gmail.com

In Brunswick

Anne Heberger-Marino |aheberger@gmail.com
Richard Nelson |richardnelson1000@gmail.com
James Schneider | jameshschneider@yahoo.com
Brenda Thompson| BrendaThompson@maineshambhala.org

In Kittery/Portsmouth

Weade Clarke | weadeclarke@gmail.com
Liz Korabek-Emerson|Liz@MaineShambhala.org

In Rockland

Rachel Nixon| Rachel@MaineShambhala.org
Cindy Caros | cndlcaros@gmail.com

In Shambhala, mindfulness-awareness meditation is the foundation of everything we do. Originating from Shakyamuni Buddha about 2,600 years ago, this practice is the art of resting the mind, opening the heart, and appreciating what it is to be fully human.

“Meditation is looking at our own backyard, you could say, looking at what we really have and discovering the richness that already exists.”

—Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche